Posted in Writing

Mystery In Marseilles Part 3

A continuation of an ongoing series titled Mystery in Marseilles. If you haven’t done so already, read parts one and two before you read part 3. 🙂

image

A Stroll in the Capital

The Gentlemen travel to Paris and arrive a day later on a windy plus cloudy day. The mood around Paris is a bit gloomy. Citizens are bustling down the street, yet everything seems a bit dreary and droll. Dupin takes a walk with UN as they search for the police department.

 

(UN): I can’t believe I agreed to come with you.

(Dupin): It’ll be worth your time. I guarantee.

 

(UN): What are you going to do? Ask the police if they’ve seen some random Indian Journalist? Mr.Raj’s uncle already did that and got no results.

 

(Dupin): Maybe that’s because they don’t know what type of questions to ask.

 

(UN): Maybe it’s because you’re unwilling to accept my theory.

 

(Dupin): Maybe it’s because you don’t see details the way I do.

 

A random stranger walks by and Dupin grabs her by the shoulder. The stranger responds by slapping him in the face. The stranger is holding a purse and is well dressed like an upperclass lady. She has jewelry all over her and has a fur scarf around her neck. A bodyguard is standing next to her and grabs Dupin.

 

(Random Parisian 1): How dare you!

 

(UN): I’m sorry my lady. My friend here doesn’t know how to deal with people. He’s not from here, so he’s not acquainted with the local etiquette. To Dupin: What the hell are you doing?

 

(Random Parisian 1): I can get both of you arrested for assault.

 

(Dupin): What are you going to do, call the police?

 

(Random Parisian 1): I will, don’t you tempt me!

 

(Dupin): And how are you going to find a police station?

 

UN starts to back away and hides behind a tree

 

(Random Parisian 1): I’ll go to the police station and turn you in!

 

(Dupin): Do you even know where the police station is my dear lady?

 

(Random Parisian 1): It’s down the block and to the left next to the pastry shop.

 

(Dupin): And how do you know they will believe you?

 

(Random Parisians 1): With a triumphant air: I happen to be good friends with the police chief, Pierre. He will believe anything I say.

 

(Dupin): Thank you for the information my dear. To UN: Come, let’s go!

 

Dupin escapes the grasp of the bodyguard. UN comes out of hiding and takes a quick glance at the Random Parisian lady and runs away with Dupin.

 

(Random Parisian 1): Hey come back here! I’ll have you arrested you know!

 

The pair run until they are out of sight from the lady.

 

(UN): Panting: Where are we going?

 

(Dupin): To the police station.

 

(UN): Weren’t we looking for that in the first place?

 

(Dupin): Yes, but now I know where it is.

 

(UN): I don’t get you Dupin. I don’t get you. You could just find a map of Paris. They’re everywhere.

 

(Dupin): That wasn’t not the only thing I wanted.

 

The two arrive at the police station, but are halted by a police guard.

 

(Police Officer): Please state your business.

 

(Dupin): We’re here to see Police Chief Pierre.

 

(Police Officer): I’m sorry he doesn’t meet with commoners.

 

(Dupin): Ah, but I’m no ordinary Commoner. I’m an acquaintance of Lady Payet.

 

(Police Officer): Payet? Of what relationship do you have with her?

 

UN gives Dupin with a quizzical look and has no idea what is going on.

 

(Dupin): I’m her valet and I’m speaking on her behalf.

 

(Police Officer): If that is the case, then what does she want from Chief Pierre.

 

(Dupin): Um… She wanted to a list of missing reports filed to police department.

 

(Police Officer): And why on Earth would a Lady like Lady Payet want that?

 

(Dupin): One of her.. Um.. servants went missing and she would like to know if the police received the report.

 

(Police Officer): There’s no need for her to obtain a list of missing reports. I can personally ask Chief Pierre to hire a unit to look for the missing servant. Tell me how this servant looks like.

 

(Dupin): Indian man, aged 23.

 

(Police Officer): Odd… I haven’t seen any Indians around in Paris in all my years working here.

 

(Dupin): Well, this is a request from Lady Payet herself. I’m sure Chief Pierre will search for her missing servant.

 

(Police Officer): Anything for Lady Payet. I will speak with the Chief. Come back in two days and we’ll tell you the result of our search.

 

Dupin and UN leave the station and look for a hotel. As they’re walking, UN expresses his admiration for Dupin.

 

(UN): I don’t know how you do it. Honestly, I don’t know.

 

(Dupin): I don’t bump into random ladies on the street for no reason my friend. Everything has a purpose.

 

(UN): You could have been more polite about it and besides, how did you know so much about that one lady from a single confrontation. Also, how could you guess that a random lady that you bumped into would somehow know the police chief.

 

(Dupin): I take it that you don’t know much about Paris.

 

(UN): Well, I’ve been here once or twice before.

 

(Dupin): The upper class is all connected. Everyone in the wealthy hierarchy of Paris knows each other. Judging by the ladies’ looks, I could tell she was a part of the upper circle.

 

(UN): What about her name and valet?

 

(Dupin): All upperclassmen have a valet. The name I was able to get from bumping into her and grabbing her shoulder. I stole handkerchief from her purse that had her name written on it.

 

(UN): You’re too clever Dupin. So what do we do now?

 

(Dupin): We find a hotel and wait two days for the results.

 

The Man of Mystery

Two days pass. Dupin and UN visit the police station again. The weather has gotten only worse with clouds completely blocking out the sun.

 

(UN): It looks like it’s going to rain anytime soon.

 

(Dupin): Yes, but nothing as petty as rain will stop us.

 

The two arrive at the station and meet the same police officer as before.

 

(Dupin): Well? We’re here on behalf of Lady Payet to see the status of the servant.

 

(Police Officer): Our best agents have scoured the city and haven’t seen anyone who matched your description. As I expected, there are no Indians in this entire city.

 

(UN): To Dupin: I told you this was a complete waste of time. Mr.Raj already did this before.

 

(Dupin): Thank you officer, Lady Payet thanks you for your services. Do you happen to know any good newspapers to read by any chance?

 

(Police Officer): No sir, I don’t like to read the news.

 

(Dupin): Hmm… thank you sir.

 

The pair leave the station once again and walk down the streets of Paris.

 

(UN): So now we’ve just wasted 3 days in Paris with no results. The police will never tell us that a random person was kidnapped by the government agents. The police are controlled by the government. You should know that Dupin.

 

(Dupin): Once again, you’re basing everything on one theory. We must cover all the grounds before we come up with the conclusion. We have to check the Newspaper companies next.

 

(UN): All of them? Are you crazy? What good does that do. Edgar works in an underground type Newspaper. There’s no way we can find that.

 

(Dupin): We’ll see.

 

The pair continue their stroll as it starts to rain in Paris.

 

(UN): Why are we here… why am I here.

 

A stranger with a red, white and blue walks by and Dupin stops to talk to him.

 

(Dupin): Dear sir, may I ask what newspapers you like to read?

 

(Parisian Stranger 2): Why on earth would I tell you that?

 

(Dupin): Because I just moved into Paris and I heard that there’s an underground revolutionary movement going on. I would like to be a part of it.

 

(Parisian Stranger 2): Hah.. good luck with that. How do you expect me to believe you.

 

(Dupin): I’m a loyal subscriber to the Paris Revolution.

 

(Parisian Stranger 2): Laughing: HAH! That closed down two years ago. The government found out and shut it down. The Triumph of the People has long replaced that as our main source of information.

 

(Dupin): Do you know where I can get a copy of that.

 

(Parisian Stranger 2): I’ve told you more than enough. Now please, I have to go.

 

The Stranger leaves. Dupin and UN head to the nearest hotel to take shelter from the rain.

 

(Dupin): UN, we need to find the headquarters of the Triumph of the People or at least someone who knows the writers of it.

 

(UN): And how are we supposed to do that? Magic?

 

(Dupin): No my friend, we think it out. No one in the police department has ever seen an Indian in Paris before. It’s been a week and a half since Edgar was last heard of.

 

(UN): Maybe, Edgar was very secretive in his work because he didn’t want to be caught. Maybe, that’s why no one has seen him.

 

(Dupin): Well, the writers of the Triumph of the People should know Edgar then. Maybe they can tell us more about him. Make me a red, white and blue armband like that man had. We’re going to crack this mystery once and for all.

 

A Triumph of the People?

It’s a new day. The rain has subsided but the streets are wet. Dupin and UN take another walk around Paris.

 

(UN): My legs are killing me Dupin. We’ve been walking around Paris for 4 days now.

 

(Dupin): Look for the armband UN. Look for them.

 

UN peers around and spots a bearded man with the colored armband sitting on a bench reading a newspaper.

 

(UN): I found one! Over here!

 

Dupin follows UN and the two sit on the same bench next to the bearded man.

 

(Dupin): Hello friend, how is your day going.

 

The bearded man looks up from newspaper and notices the armband on Dupin and UN.

 

(Bearded man): New members I see.

 

(Dupin): Yes, we’re anxious to join the next revolutionary meeting. I’m a big fan of the Triumph of the People.

 

(Bearded man): I’m glad to hear that. I’m actually a writer for that newspaper.

 

(UN): Oh really?

 

(Bearded man): Yes, I’ve been writing for it for almost 8 years now.

 

(Dupin): Do you happen to know anyone by the name of Edgar who writes for the paper?

 

The Bearded Man hesitates for a few minutes as if he’s trying to remember something.

 

(Bearded man): As if trying to remember something: Edgar…. Edgar… that name is so familiar. It’s a name I haven’t heard in a long time.

 

(UN): Long time?

 

(Bearded man): Yes… Edgar…. Oh yes I remember now. He was that Indian who used to write for us about five to six years ago.

 

(Dupin): He doesn’t write for the newspaper anymore?

 

(Bearded man): No, not at all. He stopped writing for us after the July Revolutions. To be honest, none of us have seen him since.

 

(Dupin): Hmmm.. very interesting. Well, it was good meeting you. Do you happen to know any other revolutionary newspapers in Paris?

 

(Bearded man): Not at all, The People’s Triumph is the only underground Newspaper in Paris. It was nice to meet you too gentlemen.

 

The 3 men shake hands. Dupin and UN get off from the bench and head back to the hotel.

 

(UN): I think Edgar has some explaining to do to his Uncle.

 

(Dupin): Or maybe Mr.Raj has some explaining to do to us. My work in Paris is done.

 

(UN): Finally.

 

(Dupin): And by the way, what happened to your theory about Edgar being kidnapped by the government.

 

(UN): It’s still very possible. Maybe Edgar found a new job and never told his parents. Maybe he’s working for a new paper now. Maybe Edgar tried to come clean, but the government figured out his past and still arrested him.

 

(Dupin): Good luck with that my friend.

 

(UN): Or maybe Edgar lost his job, but never wanted to tell his uncle who relies on him. Maybe Edgar’s guilt about lying to his dad has caught up to him and now he’s decided to run away.

 

(Dupin): with a chuckle: You make me laugh sometimes.

 

(UN): Hey! I’m being serious here!

 

(Dupin): Serious, but not rational.

 

End of Act 2

Leave a comment